Ron Gurvis and the late Al J. Rosen were named the 2019 Shelly Rossio Memorial honorees by the I.M. Harris Men’s B’nai B’rith Bowling Association. 

The league wrapped up its season with its four-week Shelly Rossio Memorial Marathon Tournament. In conjunction, the league each year honors two bowlers for their contributions to the league and greater Jewish community. 

Gurvis, now a resident of Tucson, Ariz., was in Columbus with his wife, Barbara, to receive the award May 20. He is the fifth bowler from the I.M. Harris League to serve as president of the International B’nai B’rith Bowling Association.

Gurvis began his bowling career in 1970, took a few years off in the mid-1970s, then bowled continuously from 1977 to 2007. He served the I.M. Harris league as vice president for two seasons, 1978-79 and 1979-80, before becoming president for three seasons, 1980-81, 1981-82 and 1984-85. He was also the IBBBA Sectional Tournament chair when Columbus hosted the tournaments in 1980 and 1985.

Gurvis frequently participated in community service projects and was also active with and served as president of the B’nai B’rith Maccabee Lodge. He maintained a 200 average in games while he played in Columbus.

Rosen bowled from 1945 to 1960 and was active on the rules committee in 1948-49 before becoming vice-president during the 1950-51 and 1951-52 seasons. He was elected president for the 1952-53 season. He guided the league through procedural changes during his years of service. During his tenure, the league was consolidated from four divisions of 10 teams to three divisions of 12 teams.

Rosen’s team, “City Window Cleaning,” established the high team series at the former Olentangy Lanes with 2,928 total pins, on Feb. 3, 1952, a record which stood through 1959.

The SRMMT was named after the late Shelly Rossio, a past president and one of the league’s top bowlers. In the four-week tournament, each bowler tosses out his high game and counts the next seven highest games for the tournament score.

In Division 1, Ron Weisman won for the first time with a score of 1,567 pins, edging-out Zach Schiff, who amassed 1,560 pins. Marc Gutter, Marc Berger and Paul Roth rounded-out the top five finishes.

In Division 2, Barry Daroe, another first-time winner, claimed the top spot with a pin count of 1,651. Next-up were Mike Caplan, Danny Rothschild, Scott Blair and Jan Feinberg, respectively.

In Division 3, Jonathan Beck, a 2012 SRMMT winner, won with 1,696 pins. Brian Miller finished as runner-up with 1,681 pins. He also finished in second place last season.  

Recommended for you

Subscribe or opt-in to home delivery today!

Do you wish to receive free home delivery of the Columbus Jewish News? Click here to subscribe now.

The CJN is asking those who receive the newspaper to confirm their subscriptions to help us get a sense of our readers’ engagement. To opt-in to the newspaper if you are already receiving it at your home, click here. Home delivery to Columbus area residents is free, thanks, in part, to the support of JewishColumbus and Schottenstein Stores Corp.